Jun 14 2012

In my opinion Disciplined Docs Reap Drug Company Benefits, so why would you go see Cathal Grant if he does not do a true medical exam before he prescribes a drug to you, and if you do go to see Cathal Grant the odds are great you will be put on a drug.

Source  Lisa Chedekel

Posted to: Health

In 2010, as state health officials were investigating allegations that Dr. Gerson Sternstein of Berlin was overmedicating patients, three pharmaceutical companies were showering thousands of dollars on the psychiatrist for meals and speaking engagements. Some of the payments continued even after his license was suspended in August 2010.

 

Similarly, Dr. Murray Wellner of West Hartford was the beneficiary of speaking fees and meals from four drug companies last year, even as federal prosecutors were investigating allegations that he wrote out 11 illegal prescriptions for controlled substances—charges he settled in April by paying a $42,500 fine.

Sternstein and Wellner are among the most striking examples of doctors in Connecticut who have reaped benefits from pharmaceutical companies while also being disciplined for violating medical conduct rules, according to records of the state Department of Public Health and public disclosures by drug companies from 2009 to 2011. That dual status—drug company beneficiary and over-prescriber—is not uncommon, experts say.

 

“Doctors receiving payments while also being disciplined for overprescribing is obviously of concern,” said Dr. Joseph Ross, an assistant professor of medicine at Yale School of Medicine, who has written about the industry’s influence on physicians.

He said that while it is difficult to know how ties between the industry and prescribing providers affect clinical decision-making, drug company payments—in the form of meals, speaking or consulting fees—are intended as marketing “incentives” to get doctors to use their products.

A check of physician records shows about a dozen Connecticut doctors receiving drug company benefits either shortly before or after being sanctioned by the state for various offenses. Whether a physician’s disciplinary record should matter to the pharmaceutical industry is a subject of debate: Some drug companies say they are trying to screen out physicians with disciplinary records, while some doctors say their past misdeeds have no bearing on their affiliations with drug companies.

Besides Wellner and Sternstein, at least two other Connecticut physicians who received speaking fees from pharmaceutical companies in the last three years had been cited for prescription-related misconduct.

Dr. Jacob Zamstein of Bloomfield was reprimanded and fined by the state medical board in 2004 after he was convicted of health care fraud and sentenced to one year probation. He was among four urologists charged with accepting free samples of the prostate cancer drug Lupron and then billing patients and Medicare when prescribing the drug. He reportedly received between $30,000 and $40,000 from billings for the free doses. He was paid $1,550 in speaking fees by GlaxoSmithKline in 2010.

Zamstein said last week that he had been a speaker for pharmaceutical companies for several years, and that some of his talks dealt with prostate medications. He said his disciplinary record should have “no bearing on my ability to share professional knowledge” with other health care providers.

In an earlier case, Dr. Robert A. Fox of East Haddam, a psychiatrist, was placed on probation for five years in 1993 for self-prescribing and misusing morphine and other narcotics, and for treating two patients with excessive quantities of Percocet or other controlled substances. Medical board records say he suffered from major depression, panic disorder and chemical dependency. He surrendered his license in New York state because of the Connecticut charges.

Eli Lilly’s payment registry shows Fox received $20,550 from the company in 2009 in speaking fees for “healthcare professional educational programs,” and another $11,979 in 2010 in speaking fees and travel expenses. He could not be reached for comment.

Drug companies for years have paid doctors to promote brand-name drugs to their peers, or have invited physicians to dinners or lunches as a way to talk-up their products. A dozen companies now publicly disclose at least some of those payments, dating back to 2009. Many do so as a result of legal settlements with the government.

In 2010, an investigation by ProPublica uncovered hundreds of doctors nationwide on company payrolls who had been accused of professional misconduct or who lacked credentials as specialists. Since then, some companies, including Eli Lilly, have taken steps to screen out physicians with disciplinary records from receiving speaking and consulting fees.

The review of cases in Connecticut focuses on physicians who have been sanctioned by the state Medical Examining Board, and who received drug company payments from 2009 to 2011. Some received speaking fees; other received meals.

Records show Sternstein, the Berlin psychiatrist, received $17,857 in payments from Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Cephalon and Eli Lilly from 2009 to 2011. The biggest payment was $14,000 in speaking fees from AstraZeneca in 2010, followed by $3,450 from Eli Lilly in 2009. The drug company records, compiled in a ProPublica database, show Eli Lilly continued to pay him in 2011, although the amount was relatively small: $15 for business meals.

After an investigation, the Connecticut medical board suspended Sternstein’s license in August 2010 on charges he had recklessly overmedicated 10 drug-addicted patients in 2009. The board permanently revoked his license a year later. Board records allege that throughout 2009, Sternstein prescribed opiates, benzodiazepines and other addictive substances to patients without properly monitoring their treatment, and that in some cases he prescribed dangerous combinations of drugs or excessive doses. Two patients died of overdoses while under his care.

State records show Sternstein, a pain management specialist, was a top prescriber of a number of controlled substances in 2009, including Actiq, an opiod pain medication, and Xanax, a benzodiazepine used to treat anxiety. Actiq is manufactured by Cephalon; Xanax is a product of Pfizer. Both companies paid him for meals and other items in 2010.

Sternstein, who no longer practices in Connecticut, could not be reached for comment.

Wellner, of West Hartford, was reprimanded, fined $10,000 and placed on two years’ probation in April 2011 after he admitted to writing prescriptions in 2010 for Vyvanse, a stimulant used to treat attention deficit disorder, for patients who did not require the medication and then re-directing the drugs. He entered into a settlement with prosecutors in which he paid $42,500 to resolve allegations that he violated the Controlled Substances Act by writing improper prescriptions for both Vyvanse and Subutex and failing to account for all of the controlled substances that he purchased and dispensed.

Drug company records show Wellner received more than $4,500 in payments from four companies from 2009 through 2011. In 2011, GlaxoSmithKline paid him $750 in speaking fees, while Eli Lilly, Pfizer and Cephalon all provided meals. In 2010, GlaxoSmithKline paid him $1,940 in speaking fees, while Pfizer and Cephalon paid for more than $300 in meals.

Wellner said last week that he used to be an “expert speaker on certain products,” but that he was doing less speaking in the last few years. He said the sanctions against him for improper prescribing bore no relation to his drug-company activities.

“There’s no connection between what I did and the speaking,” he said. “I did something inappropriate… I made a mistake without knowing what I did. Obviously if I commit murder or something, I should not be doing speaking (to other physicians). I would agree on that.”

Some drug companies have taken steps to screen physicians hired as speakers and consultants, in the wake of ProPublica’s report. Kristen Neese, a spokeswoman for Pfizer, said that in addition to ensuring that health care providers are “in good standing” with federal agencies, the company is “exploring new ways to better utilize the varied and often inconsistent information gathered by state medical boards,” including making quarterly checks of state disciplinary actions.

Kevin Colgan, a spokesman for GlaxoSmithKline, said the firm strengthened its screening guidelines last year for speakers and consultants, and now excludes practitioners who have received state or federal sanctions. He said both Wellner and Zamstein had been retained as speakers before the new policy went into effect, and would no longer serve as speakers.

J. Scott MacGregor, a spokesman for Eli Lilly, said the company began state-level screening of speakers and consultants last year. He said the screening does not extend to business meals, which allow Lilly representatives to discuss their products with healthcare providers.

Ross, the Yale expert, said meals are another way for drug companies to forge alliances with doctors. “It’s an opportunity to have face time with a physician. It’s pure marketing,” he said.

While disclosures of physician payments now vary in scope from company to company, provisions in the federal health care reform act require that all industry payments to physicians—of $10 or more—be publicly disclosed by September 2013.

In Connecticut, hundreds of health care practitioners have received millions of dollars in pay for consulting, travel, meals and speaking since 2009. Company records show several dozen physicians collecting more than $50,000.

The review of available records shows at least seven other Connecticut doctors who were disciplined for lapses in patient care receiving industry payments from 2009-2011:

• Dr. Nathan Valin of Hamden was reprimanded and fined $5,000 by the state medical board in 2004 for failing to provide proper post-operative care to a patient who underwent a coronary artery angioplasty. The patient suffered cardiac arrest and died. Valin received $2,600 in speaking fees from Eli Lilly in 2009 and another $6,034 in 2010.

Valin said last week that the disciplinary action should have no bearing on his industry-sponsored speaking, which he said focused, in part, on the anti-platelet medication Effient. The drug is manufactured by Lilly and used for patients treated with angioplasty.

“I don’t understand why you are bringing up a reprimand that happened [eight] years ago,” Valin said. “That has nothing to do with my being a speaker.”

In terms of his drug company payments, he said, “I’m on probably the lower end of the scale of physicians in Connecticut. It’s not like I’m getting hundreds of thousands of dollars.”

• Dr. Philip Mongelluzzo, Jr. of Waterbury was fined $1,000 by the state in 2005 for inappropriately caring for a patient by referring him for an MRI, despite knowing he had a pacemaker—a potential danger. He received $78,048 from three drug companies from 2009 through 2011, including $59,250 in speaking fees from Cephalon in 2009. The company’s website says physicians are paid to conduct “company-sponsored peer-to-peer educational speaker programs.”

Mongelluzzo could not be reached for comment, but his father, Philip Sr., said his son had done speaking and “drug-rep education programs” in the past. He said the disciplinary infraction was “total nonsense” and not relevant.

• Dr. George Michael Donahue of Enfield was put on two years’ probation in 1998 for prescribing excessive quantities of the narcotic pain-reliever Percocet to a patient. He received $1,969 in meals from Pfizer from 2009 through 2011, records show.

• Dr. Robert Stark of Greenwich received a reprimand and a $7,500 fine in 2004 for incorrectly interpreting a patient’s electrocardiogram by failing to notice an aortic dissection. The 33-year-old patient, who was discharged from Greenwich Hospital, died five days later. State board records note that Stark took steps to prevent such an event from recurring. He received $250 in speaking fees from AstraZeneca in 2010.

• Waterbury psychiatrist Dr. Arvind Shah was sanctioned by the medical board in May 2009 for violating professional boundaries by hiring a patient as a therapist in his office. In 2010 and 2011, he received meals valued at more than $900 from Pfizer and Eli Lilly.

• Two Norwalk doctors were punished by the state. Dr. Bharat Patel, who was reprimanded once in 2004 for failing to order proper tests on a woman with cardiac problems, and again in 2010 for allowing an unlicensed employee to practice medicine, received more than $600 in meals from Pfizer in 2010 and 2011. Dr. Gerald Weiss, who was reprimanded and fined in April 2010 for allowing an unlicensed employee to practice nursing, received meals valued at $320 from Cephalon in 2010 and 2011.
Does Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, get paid by the drug companies to push their drugs on you, if you need them or not, yes he does look below:

The real truth about the money paid to Cathal Grant by the drug Companies

Notice Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas is paid by Eli Lilly, Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca, Cephalon, GlaxoSmithKline, and Pfizer to push their drug in our opinion it is clear what Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas is doing, prescribing drug if you need them or not.

Doctors Paid Big By Drug Companies?

One patient statement about Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas:

“We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now. “

 

In our experience Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, does not tell you one big fact that you the patient has and that is Informed Consent, Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, does not discuss this or wants you to know about this, in our experience so he can get you hooked on psychotropic medications so you can do nothing but feed you greed for money, and you do not care at all what you do to the patient’s life.

This video proves what we are saying in our opinion about Cathal Grant’s medical practice, it also shows how Cathal Grant does not want you to have informed consent in your visit with him, and he does not tell you the truth, as the video below shows:

 

Did you like this? Share it:

No responses yet

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

*

  • Archives Calendar

    June 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep    
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • RSS In my Opinon Free Speech

    • In My Opinion Free Speech site was attacked I guess they do not like the truth to be told
      It seems like that when you supply the truth as  In my opinion free speech does, and you start exposing the drugs, drug companies, and the people responsible for hurting so many innocent people who among many actions, break up marriages and basically ruinin people’s lives and careers by their actions and drugs they use wrongly, and abusively, that when Related posts: In my opinion the drug Cathal Grant is paid by Eli Lilly to push on you if you need it or not, has major issues as told in the article “Suicide and Cymbalta” In my opinion: What’s really behind the school shootings. In tha case of Cathal Grant his patient have attacked members of thier won family, even though the famly members warned his what what going on, all Cathal Grant wants to do is keep people hooked on the drug hie is supplying if they need the drigs or not. In my opinion the truth about the drugs Cathal Grant Prescribes and the facts he does not want you to know: Mental Health Watchdog Launches Psychiatric Drug Side Effects Database—Search All Drug Regulatory Agency Warnings, Studies & Adverse Reactions Reports
    • In my Opinion the payment still being made to Cathal Grant to give you medication you may not need
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies , our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not. Payments: At a Glance 566 payments $210,057 payment total Rank: 8 out of 1,268 doctors in this specialty and state Drugs & Devices Totals listed below account Related posts: In my opinion a release Eli Lilly: Lying is the Best Defense The drug company who pays Cathal Grant (Cathal Grant’s total payment $151,474.00 since 2010 by all drug companies) to give you medication you may not need In my opinion a report: Psychology Professor: Grief and anxiety are not mental illnesses; People need help & understanding not labels & medication, but Cathal Grant will label you and give you drugs if you need them or not, all he wants is the money for office visits, and credit with the drug companies for the drug he has perscribed and hooked you on they have paid him $151,474.00 since 2010. In my opinion asks the question: Why Must Everything Be a Medical Condition? ADHD prescriptions soar 50% in six years, In Cathal Grant’s case he getd patients hooked on these drugs for nothing more than he own personal gains and his payment by the drug companies to increse thier profits by prescribing these drug if you need them or not.
    • In my opinion Cathal Grant the doctor and drugs in Medicare Part D a real tale of over prescribing for money
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   Source: Pro Publica   Cathal Grant keeps in our opinion  increasing his wrongful prescribing of drug these patients do Related posts: In My Opinion SSRI Tragedy a Real Risk, and Cathal Grant does not care what the drugs he prescribes to you does, all he is interested in is the money he collects for the 2 to 5 minute office visits and what the drug companies pay him to push their drugs In my opinion News: Media Ignores Real Story in Conn School Shooting, and Cathal Grant keeps prescribing the same class of drug that has caused these incidents, caring for nothing but his office visit fees In my Opoinon Report on Cathal Grant Prescriber Checkup The Doctors and Drugs in Medicare Part D, the time Cathal Grant spends with his patient 2 to 5 minutes is not enough time to do a proper diganosis, just to push drugs on unsupecting Medicare and other patients, like the drug companies pay him to do if they need the drug or not in our experience Cathal Grant a true legal drug pusher
    • In my opinion: A Psychiatrist’s Perspective on Using Drugs . Cathal Grant does not practice like this he gets you hooked on these drug for his own profit and the proffit of the drug companies who pay him to hook you on their drugs
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   In our experience the facts below prove Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is doing what he paid Related posts: In my opinion: When it comes to Anti-depressants, it appears profit, not benefits, outweigh the risks and Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas practice is for nothing but profit his profit , he spends only 2 to 5 minutes with each patient so he can make the most profit by seeing the maxium number of patients each day and it is the patients who gets hooked on these drug in his practice when they do not need these drug at all. In my opinion a Documentary: The Drugging of Our Children, and Cathal Grant will drug you children, not because they need it only so he can get them hook on the drugs for more profit for him and the drug companies who pay him to push their drugs In my Opinion: Top psychiatrist: ‘We are turning childhood into a disease’ all for the prifit of Cathal Grand and the drug companies who pay him to get prople hooked on these drugs
    • In my Opinon: Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs, these are facts that Cathal Grant does not want you to read, he wants you not to know these facts so he can push drugs on you and get you hooked on them.
      Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs Design & Trend – January 23, 2014 By Pete Calautti Source: Design & Trend & CCHR Dr. Peter Gotzsche has created a controversy and sparked criticism over what he sees as a damaging over-prescription of drugs by psychiatrists. Gotzsche recently compiled a list of ten common myths held Related posts: In my Opinon Dr. Mercola Explains that Psychotropic Drug Use Associated with Increased Risk for Car Crashes, But Cathal Grant is a pro profit not for patient doctor who wants to get you hooked on these drugs reguardless of how you life is affected by these drugs In my opinion a Report: Mental Disorders: The Facts Behind the Marketing Campaign and Cathal Grant knows if you read this information you will come to the conclusion he is only in the business of pushing drugs you do not need using false diganostic methods and theories no longer accepted by the medical community. In my opinon the facts exposed: Psycho-Pharma Front Groups The Campaign to “Stop the Stigma” of “Mental Illness” was launched by…. the Pharmaceutical Industry, the same drug companies who pay Cathal Grant to get you hooked on their drugs of you need them or not.