Aug 09 2013

In my opinion the proof of Psychiatric Abuse of the Elderly, the over perscribing of drugs by Cathal Grant fits this pattern, he prescribes to all ages, if you need the medication or not, you get it reguardless.

 

  •  Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.

In our experience the facts below prove Cathal Grant is doing what he paid for by the drug companies

 

In our opinion if you think Cathal Grant is not doing this Psychiatric Abuse of the Elderlythis look at these edicare figures:

 A Glance: this Prescriber Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, in 2010
2,092 Medicare Part D Prescriptions Filled $280K Total Retail Price $135 Average Prescription Price 204 Medicare Part D Patients Receiving at Least One Drug

Source: Pro Publica

Psychiatric Abuse of the Elderly

Source: CCHR

 

In today’s high-pressure world, tradition is too often replaced by more modern means of dealing with the demands of life. For example, while once heavily community, church and family-based, today the task of caring for our parents and grandparents routinely falls to organizations such as nursing homes or aged-care centers. There we trust that professionally trained staff will take care of our elders as we would.

However, the reality of nursing home life today is often far from the stylized and advertized images of communicative, interactive and interested elderly residents living in an idyllic environment.  By contrast, more often than not, elderly in nursing homes are often quiet, appear somewhat vacant, a sort of lifelessness about them, perhaps blankly staring or deeply introspective and withdrawn.  If not by drugs, these conditions can also be brought on by the use of electroshock treatment (ECT) or simply the threat of painful and demeaning restraints.

This is the legacy of the widespread introduction of psychiatric treatment into the care of the elderly over the last few decades, and the consequences have been disastrous.

elderly-abuse-1a

Consider the following facts about the “treatments” they receive:

According to the Office of the Inspector General, 304,983 elderly nursing home residents in the U.S. were given dangerous and often deadly antipsychotic drugs, of which 88% were prescribed off-label for dementia.  Not only are antipsychotics dangerous and potentially lethal when prescribed to anyone, but the FDA has specifically issued its strongest “black box” warning on the use of antipsychotics in the elderly with dementia for its increased risk of death.

  • In all, there have been 24 warnings issued by regulatory agencies and drug companies in seven countries (U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, and South Africa) about the use of antipsychotics causing heart problems, weight gain, diabetes, mania, and psychosis.  Out of these 24 drug warnings, 10 specifically warn about the use of antipsychotic drugs in the elderly because of their increased risk of stroke and/or death.

Portrait of old man

  • A study on death rates of depressed patients at least 85 years of age (many of which are already taking a plethora of drugs/medications), found that mortality rates were greater for those who received ECT, compared to those who did not.  Within 1 year, 27% of those who received ECT treatment had died versus 4% of those who didn’t receive ECT.
  • Electroshock is barbaric treatment when administered to anyone, however in the elderly, their often fragile bodies suffer specific effects including heart arrhythmias,  delirium, lesions in inner areas of the brain, confusion, brain shrinkage, cognitive impairment, increased rates of falling and amnesia.

elderly-abuse-3a

Preying on the Elderly for Profit

To psychiatrists, old age is a “mental disorder,” a for-profit disease for which they have no cure, but will happily supply endless prescriptions of psychoactive drugs or ECT.  In just a six-month time period in 2007, Medicare received $309 million in claims for antipsychotics for elderly in nursing homesDaniel R. Levinson, Office of Inspector General (OIG), Department of Health and Human Services, stated recently, “Despite the fact that it is potentially lethal to prescribe antipsychotics to patients with dementia, there’s ample evidence that some drug companies aggressively marketed their products towards such populations, putting profits before safety….  Government, taxpayers, nursing home residents, as well as their families and caregivers should be outraged – and seek solutions.”

In May 2011, the OIG published a report on Medicare drug claims for atypical antipsychotics for elderly nursing home residents.  The report found that 95% (nearly 1.4 million) of Medicare claims for newer antipsychotics during the first six months of 2007, were either for off-label conditions and/or used in patients diagnosed with dementia.  The OIG auditors found that 51%, or 726,000 of the 1.4 million Medicare drug claims were paid for by the government improperly, costing an estimated that $116 million in Medicare dollars.

On January 15, 2010, the Department of Justice (DOJ) filed a civil False Claims Act complaint against drug company giant, Johnson & Johnson (J&J), saying that the company paid millions to Omnicare, Inc. (the nation’s largest pharmacy that specializes in dispensing drugs to nursing home patients), as kickbacks for selling the antipsychotic Risperdal to nursing home patients.  In November 2009, Omnicare paid $98 million to settle charges brought against it by the government for allegedly taking kickbacks from J&J to recommend the drug maker’s products, including the antipsychotic Risperdal.  According to the DOJ complaint, J&J paid $50 million to Omnicare between 1999 and 2004 to get it to prescribe Risperdal to elderly patients with dementia, and then hid those kickbacks as payments for services that Omnicare never actually provided.

elderly-abuse-4a

The Elderly Deserve Better –

They Deserve Real Medical Solutions, Humane Treatment, Compassion and Care

Common sense and decency dictate that the last thing a fragile, anxious or vulnerable elderly person needs is the additional physical and mental stress associated with heavy, addictive psychiatric drugs.  The very least our senior citizens deserve is to be able to enjoy their Golden Years, safe in the knowledge that they won’t be taken from their homes, incarcerated and drugged until they are mindless or be given electroshock treatment.  To render them inactive and mindless through powerful mind-altering drugs with life-threatening side effects is an unforgivable assault.

According to internationally renowned author and Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus, Thomas Szasz, “Most elderly people can care for themselves, both economically and physically, at least for awhile…. However, with the relentless advance of age, these assets gradually erode.  Unless the old person receives continuous stimulation and support through human contacts at work or in the family, he becomes idle and lonely, often ending up in a nursing home, drugged into mindless passivity.”

Below are just a few alternative methods that have been used in the care of the elderly:

Instead of treating behavioral problems with antipsychotic drugs, Ecumen, a chain of 15 nursing homes, uses strategies including aromatherapy, massage, music, games, exercise, good conversation, personal attention, better pain control and other techniques.  The project was started by Eva Lanigan, a nurse and resident care coordinator at Ecumen’s Sunrise Home in Two Harbors, Minnesota.  The entire staff was trained and encouraged to interact with residents with dementia.  Within six months, they eliminated antipsychotic drugs and cut the use of antidepressants by half.  The result, Lanigan said: “The chaos level is down, but the noise is up — the noise of people laughing, talking, much more engaged with life.  It’s amazing.”  After seeing the results, the Ecumen company started a project called “Awakenings” and implemented it throughout its 15 long-term care nursing homes.  The project is based on Lanigan’s work and is funded by a two-year, $3.7 million state grant.

A similar program to Ecumen’s is being carried out under the direction of psychiatrist Dr. Miguel Rivera, where caregivers at the Pines of Sarasota nursing home in Florida have set up using simple spa comforts such as music, massage and calming colors to help reduce agitation.  As a result, dosages of antipsychotic medications have dropped to less than half the state average for this patient population.  Medicare payments for services to dementia patients are expected to total $172 billion in 2010.  So low-cost interventions such as Rivera’s could save tax dollars.

Laura Gitlin, PhD, Director of the Jefferson Center for Applied Research on Aging and Health in Philadelphia, said non-pharmacological approaches can help, such as personal counseling, education, skill training of family members, and simple and engaging activities. Gitlin described an occupational program at her university that developed meaningful activities for dementia patients based on their capabilities.  The program cost $941.63 per family per year, compared with $1,825 for drug treatment programs.  The program also saved caregivers about five hours a day in time they would have otherwise spent in hands-on care.

What You Can Do

1.  Support CCHR’s public education campaigns by becoming a member or making a tax-deductible donation.

2.  Write to your congressman, as well as the US Senate Special Committee on Aging, and demand that non-psychiatric, medical solutions and humane treatment programs are funded, such as the ones listed above.

3.  For the elderly in nursing homes, do your own research by using the Psychiatric Drugs Dangers Database.

IMPORTANT FACTS

1. Studies in numerous countries reveal that between 10% and 25% of psychiatrists and psychologists admit to sexually abusing their patients.

2. Germany reported that 50% of registered psychologists and psychotherapists are unacceptable as practitioners because they have more problems than their patients.

3. The so-called ethics system used by psychiatrists has been universally attacked as soft and inadequate.

4. A 1997 Canadian study of psychiatrists revealed that 10% admitted to sexually abusing theirs patients; 80% of those are repeat offenders.

The real truth about the money paid to Cathal Grant by the drug Companies

 

Notice Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas is paid by Eli Lilly, Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca, Cephalon, GlaxoSmithKline, and Pfizer to push their drug in our opinion it is clear what Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas is doing, prescribing drug if you need them or not.

 

Doctors Paid Big By Drug Companies?

One patient statement about Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas:

“We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now. “

 

In our experience Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, does not tell you one big fact that you the patient has and that is Informed Consent, Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, does not discuss this or wants you to know about this, in our experience so he can get you hooked on psychotropic medications so you can do nothing but feed you greed for money, and you do not care at all what you do to the patient’s life.

This video proves what we are saying in our opinion about Cathal Grant’s medical practice, it also shows how Cathal Grant does not want you to have informed consent in your visit with him, and he does not tell you the truth, as the video below shows:

 

 

 

 

Did you like this? Share it:

One response so far

One Response to “In my opinion the proof of Psychiatric Abuse of the Elderly, the over perscribing of drugs by Cathal Grant fits this pattern, he prescribes to all ages, if you need the medication or not, you get it reguardless.”

  1. janessaon 21 Mar 2014 at 11:04 PM

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site.
    He was once entirely right. This submit actually made my
    day. You can not believe just how a lot time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

*

  • Archives Calendar

    June 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep    
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • RSS In my Opinon Free Speech

    • In My Opinion Free Speech site was attacked I guess they do not like the truth to be told
      It seems like that when you supply the truth as  In my opinion free speech does, and you start exposing the drugs, drug companies, and the people responsible for hurting so many innocent people who among many actions, break up marriages and basically ruinin people’s lives and careers by their actions and drugs they use wrongly, and abusively, that when Related posts: In my opinion the drug Cathal Grant is paid by Eli Lilly to push on you if you need it or not, has major issues as told in the article “Suicide and Cymbalta” In my opinion: What’s really behind the school shootings. In tha case of Cathal Grant his patient have attacked members of thier won family, even though the famly members warned his what what going on, all Cathal Grant wants to do is keep people hooked on the drug hie is supplying if they need the drigs or not. In my opinion the truth about the drugs Cathal Grant Prescribes and the facts he does not want you to know: Mental Health Watchdog Launches Psychiatric Drug Side Effects Database—Search All Drug Regulatory Agency Warnings, Studies & Adverse Reactions Reports
    • In my Opinion the payment still being made to Cathal Grant to give you medication you may not need
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies , our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not. Payments: At a Glance 566 payments $210,057 payment total Rank: 8 out of 1,268 doctors in this specialty and state Drugs & Devices Totals listed below account Related posts: In my opinion a release Eli Lilly: Lying is the Best Defense The drug company who pays Cathal Grant (Cathal Grant’s total payment $151,474.00 since 2010 by all drug companies) to give you medication you may not need In my opinion a report: Psychology Professor: Grief and anxiety are not mental illnesses; People need help & understanding not labels & medication, but Cathal Grant will label you and give you drugs if you need them or not, all he wants is the money for office visits, and credit with the drug companies for the drug he has perscribed and hooked you on they have paid him $151,474.00 since 2010. In my opinion asks the question: Why Must Everything Be a Medical Condition? ADHD prescriptions soar 50% in six years, In Cathal Grant’s case he getd patients hooked on these drugs for nothing more than he own personal gains and his payment by the drug companies to increse thier profits by prescribing these drug if you need them or not.
    • In my opinion Cathal Grant the doctor and drugs in Medicare Part D a real tale of over prescribing for money
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   Source: Pro Publica   Cathal Grant keeps in our opinion  increasing his wrongful prescribing of drug these patients do Related posts: In My Opinion SSRI Tragedy a Real Risk, and Cathal Grant does not care what the drugs he prescribes to you does, all he is interested in is the money he collects for the 2 to 5 minute office visits and what the drug companies pay him to push their drugs In my opinion News: Media Ignores Real Story in Conn School Shooting, and Cathal Grant keeps prescribing the same class of drug that has caused these incidents, caring for nothing but his office visit fees In my Opoinon Report on Cathal Grant Prescriber Checkup The Doctors and Drugs in Medicare Part D, the time Cathal Grant spends with his patient 2 to 5 minutes is not enough time to do a proper diganosis, just to push drugs on unsupecting Medicare and other patients, like the drug companies pay him to do if they need the drug or not in our experience Cathal Grant a true legal drug pusher
    • In my opinion: A Psychiatrist’s Perspective on Using Drugs . Cathal Grant does not practice like this he gets you hooked on these drug for his own profit and the proffit of the drug companies who pay him to hook you on their drugs
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   In our experience the facts below prove Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is doing what he paid Related posts: In my opinion: When it comes to Anti-depressants, it appears profit, not benefits, outweigh the risks and Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas practice is for nothing but profit his profit , he spends only 2 to 5 minutes with each patient so he can make the most profit by seeing the maxium number of patients each day and it is the patients who gets hooked on these drug in his practice when they do not need these drug at all. In my opinion a Documentary: The Drugging of Our Children, and Cathal Grant will drug you children, not because they need it only so he can get them hook on the drugs for more profit for him and the drug companies who pay him to push their drugs In my Opinion: Top psychiatrist: ‘We are turning childhood into a disease’ all for the prifit of Cathal Grand and the drug companies who pay him to get prople hooked on these drugs
    • In my Opinon: Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs, these are facts that Cathal Grant does not want you to read, he wants you not to know these facts so he can push drugs on you and get you hooked on them.
      Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs Design & Trend – January 23, 2014 By Pete Calautti Source: Design & Trend & CCHR Dr. Peter Gotzsche has created a controversy and sparked criticism over what he sees as a damaging over-prescription of drugs by psychiatrists. Gotzsche recently compiled a list of ten common myths held Related posts: In my Opinon Dr. Mercola Explains that Psychotropic Drug Use Associated with Increased Risk for Car Crashes, But Cathal Grant is a pro profit not for patient doctor who wants to get you hooked on these drugs reguardless of how you life is affected by these drugs In my opinion a Report: Mental Disorders: The Facts Behind the Marketing Campaign and Cathal Grant knows if you read this information you will come to the conclusion he is only in the business of pushing drugs you do not need using false diganostic methods and theories no longer accepted by the medical community. In my opinon the facts exposed: Psycho-Pharma Front Groups The Campaign to “Stop the Stigma” of “Mental Illness” was launched by…. the Pharmaceutical Industry, the same drug companies who pay Cathal Grant to get you hooked on their drugs of you need them or not.