Jun 16 2013

In my Opinon Concern Over Possible SSRI Birth Defects Certainly Not New, and Cathal Gratn will keep prescribing them no matter wha t the risk to the mother and child his is paid by the drug companies to do so

  •   Cathal Grant is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.

Source: Lawyers and Settlements

Concern Over Possible SSRI Birth Defects Certainly Not New

. By

Washington, DC: While concern over the potential for SSRI birth defects has been growing, the issue is far from new. And while the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) released its most recent statement with regard to SSRI antidepressants in 2011, suspicion that either one SSRI in particular or all SSRI drugs in general carrying potential for serious, but rare abnormalities, goes back even longer.

Concern Over Possible SSRI Birth Defects Certainly Not NewSelective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) are a relatively newer class of antidepressants found to be more effective at treating depression than an older class of drugs. Speculation abounds that this may be one of the reasons behind a massive spike in SSRI use amongst women. LawyersandSettlements.com writer Brenda Craig, writing in Antidepressants in Crosshairs As Mother’s Class Action Moves Forward, cited a data brief published by the US Department of Health and Human Services that reported a 400 percent increase in the use of antidepressants in  the US. Furthermore, it is estimated that a staggering 11 percent of women take an antidepressant, with 13.4 percent of all pregnant women in the US actively using an antidepressant during pregnancy.

Whether or not those antidepressants were latest-generation antidepressants that appear to put patients at risk for SSRI side effects was not broken out. But it’s safe to assume that SSRI effectiveness, availability and the willingness of doctors and psychiatrists to prescribe them, place selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors near the very top.

As for the FDA, the federal agency responsible for the regulation of drugs in America had this to say, on December 14, 2011…

“The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is updating the public on the use of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (SSRI) antidepressants by women during pregnancy and the potential risk of a rare heart and lung condition known as persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn (PPHN). The initial Public Health Advisory in July 2006 on this potential risk was based on a single published study. Since then, there have been conflicting findings from new studies evaluating this potential risk, making it unclear whether use of SSRIs during pregnancy can cause PPHN.”

The FDA, in its statement, referenced a previous public health advisory from 2006. But the concern goes back even further when, according to a published report from WebMD (9/24/09), the FDA singled out Paxil for an increased risk for heart defect in newborns in 2005. The cautionary stance from the FDA was based on research that had just been published at the time.

Such research takes years to conceive, undertake, compile and complete – which puts the timeline for concern over the potential for SSRI birth defects back even further. At the time, a Danish study suggested that two SSRI drugs in particular, taken early in pregnancy, were found to be associated with a small increased risk for heart defect. For purposes of the study, the offspring of Danish women who took SSRI drugs in their first trimester were compared to that of women who did not use SSRI drugs. Some 400,000 infants born between 1996 and 2003 were studied.

Thus, researchers are closing in on 20 years since someone in a lab or university somewhere first hypothesized the possibility of a link between SSRI antidepressants and SSRI birth defects.

And yet, we seem no further ahead. Despite the FDA’s cautionary stance in 2011 and the growing concern over SSRI side effects, all agree that more studies need to be done to add some conclusiveness to the concern – conclusions that would help pilot the ongoing debate as to whether or not SSRI antidepressants should be stopped when a woman is pregnant, planning to become pregnant or suddenly discovers she is pregnant in an unplanned capacity (by then, for the unborn infant, it may be too late).

Women’s health advocates cite concern for the mother if SSRI drugs are stopped. Pediatric advocates push forward the position that stopping the medication, temporarily during pregnancy, is the only way to effectively mitigate any risk to the fetus.

While American women wait for larger and more conclusive studies to help crystalize the SSRI debate, heartbroken parents continue to file an SSRI lawsuit after their newborn comes into the world with PPHN or other SSRI birth defects. PPHN makes it extremely difficult for an infant to make the transition to breathing outside the womb, with some struggling valiantly in the delivery room to survive. Many do. Others have lived for only a few hours or a few weeks before succumbing to PPHN.

 

In the meantime, combined with the concern over the prevalence of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, is the apparent rush to prescribe them for even low incidence of depression. University of British Columbia researcher and pharmacologist, Dr. Barbara Mintzes, was quoted by writer Brenda Craig as saying, “The majority of women are prescribed SSRIs for mild to moderate depression.” The suggestion, therefore, is that other treatment options that could hold promise as effective are being cast aside in deference to the convenience of a prescription.

In our experience the following video is an example of how Cathal Grant MD, Bedford, Texas treats and controls his patients to keep them on the Psychotropic drugs to make his patients prescription drug addicts, all for his greed of wealth, and the credits he get with the drug companies for prescribing their drugs, which he is paid by them to push.

This video proves what we are saying in our opinion about Cathal Grant’s medical practice, it also shows how Cathal Grant does not want you to have informed consent in your visit with him , he dose not tell you the truth, as the video below shows:

“We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now. “

 

Doctors Paid Big By Drug Companies?

 

 

Becky Oliver of Fox Four News Dallas Reports on the Texas Medical Board:

Top secret meetings, back-door deals and confidential complaints are all a part of the Texas Board of Medical Examiners. The state board is supposed to be policing doctors and protecting the public but some patients complain the system is a prescription for failure.

Dallas News | myFOXdfw.com

  • Click the links below to see why nothing is done about a Doctor like Cathal Grant

Texas Report

MEDICAL BOARDS’ SERIOUS DISCIPLINARY 2008-2010

But as many an SSRI lawyer can attest, the cost of that convenience can be devastating.

The first bellwether cases alleging that Zoloft and other selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors cause birth defects are scheduled for the fall of next year.

Did you like this? Share it:

No responses yet

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

*

  • Archives Calendar

    May 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep    
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • RSS In my Opinon Free Speech

    • In My Opinion Free Speech site was attacked I guess they do not like the truth to be told
      It seems like that when you supply the truth as  In my opinion free speech does, and you start exposing the drugs, drug companies, and the people responsible for hurting so many innocent people who among many actions, break up marriages and basically ruinin people’s lives and careers by their actions and drugs they use wrongly, and abusively, that when Related posts: In my opinion the drug Cathal Grant is paid by Eli Lilly to push on you if you need it or not, has major issues as told in the article “Suicide and Cymbalta” In my opinion: What’s really behind the school shootings. In tha case of Cathal Grant his patient have attacked members of thier won family, even though the famly members warned his what what going on, all Cathal Grant wants to do is keep people hooked on the drug hie is supplying if they need the drigs or not. In my opinion the truth about the drugs Cathal Grant Prescribes and the facts he does not want you to know: Mental Health Watchdog Launches Psychiatric Drug Side Effects Database—Search All Drug Regulatory Agency Warnings, Studies & Adverse Reactions Reports
    • In my Opinion the payment still being made to Cathal Grant to give you medication you may not need
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies , our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not. Payments: At a Glance 566 payments $210,057 payment total Rank: 8 out of 1,268 doctors in this specialty and state Drugs & Devices Totals listed below account Related posts: In my opinion a release Eli Lilly: Lying is the Best Defense The drug company who pays Cathal Grant (Cathal Grant’s total payment $151,474.00 since 2010 by all drug companies) to give you medication you may not need In my opinion a report: Psychology Professor: Grief and anxiety are not mental illnesses; People need help & understanding not labels & medication, but Cathal Grant will label you and give you drugs if you need them or not, all he wants is the money for office visits, and credit with the drug companies for the drug he has perscribed and hooked you on they have paid him $151,474.00 since 2010. In my opinion asks the question: Why Must Everything Be a Medical Condition? ADHD prescriptions soar 50% in six years, In Cathal Grant’s case he getd patients hooked on these drugs for nothing more than he own personal gains and his payment by the drug companies to increse thier profits by prescribing these drug if you need them or not.
    • In my opinion Cathal Grant the doctor and drugs in Medicare Part D a real tale of over prescribing for money
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   Source: Pro Publica   Cathal Grant keeps in our opinion  increasing his wrongful prescribing of drug these patients do Related posts: In My Opinion SSRI Tragedy a Real Risk, and Cathal Grant does not care what the drugs he prescribes to you does, all he is interested in is the money he collects for the 2 to 5 minute office visits and what the drug companies pay him to push their drugs In my opinion News: Media Ignores Real Story in Conn School Shooting, and Cathal Grant keeps prescribing the same class of drug that has caused these incidents, caring for nothing but his office visit fees In my Opoinon Report on Cathal Grant Prescriber Checkup The Doctors and Drugs in Medicare Part D, the time Cathal Grant spends with his patient 2 to 5 minutes is not enough time to do a proper diganosis, just to push drugs on unsupecting Medicare and other patients, like the drug companies pay him to do if they need the drug or not in our experience Cathal Grant a true legal drug pusher
    • In my opinion: A Psychiatrist’s Perspective on Using Drugs . Cathal Grant does not practice like this he gets you hooked on these drug for his own profit and the proffit of the drug companies who pay him to hook you on their drugs
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   In our experience the facts below prove Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is doing what he paid Related posts: In my opinion: When it comes to Anti-depressants, it appears profit, not benefits, outweigh the risks and Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas practice is for nothing but profit his profit , he spends only 2 to 5 minutes with each patient so he can make the most profit by seeing the maxium number of patients each day and it is the patients who gets hooked on these drug in his practice when they do not need these drug at all. In my opinion a Documentary: The Drugging of Our Children, and Cathal Grant will drug you children, not because they need it only so he can get them hook on the drugs for more profit for him and the drug companies who pay him to push their drugs In my Opinion: Top psychiatrist: ‘We are turning childhood into a disease’ all for the prifit of Cathal Grand and the drug companies who pay him to get prople hooked on these drugs
    • In my Opinon: Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs, these are facts that Cathal Grant does not want you to read, he wants you not to know these facts so he can push drugs on you and get you hooked on them.
      Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs Design & Trend – January 23, 2014 By Pete Calautti Source: Design & Trend & CCHR Dr. Peter Gotzsche has created a controversy and sparked criticism over what he sees as a damaging over-prescription of drugs by psychiatrists. Gotzsche recently compiled a list of ten common myths held Related posts: In my Opinon Dr. Mercola Explains that Psychotropic Drug Use Associated with Increased Risk for Car Crashes, But Cathal Grant is a pro profit not for patient doctor who wants to get you hooked on these drugs reguardless of how you life is affected by these drugs In my opinion a Report: Mental Disorders: The Facts Behind the Marketing Campaign and Cathal Grant knows if you read this information you will come to the conclusion he is only in the business of pushing drugs you do not need using false diganostic methods and theories no longer accepted by the medical community. In my opinon the facts exposed: Psycho-Pharma Front Groups The Campaign to “Stop the Stigma” of “Mental Illness” was launched by…. the Pharmaceutical Industry, the same drug companies who pay Cathal Grant to get you hooked on their drugs of you need them or not.
LinkDock.com You found linkdock.com, so will your customers. It's a great label for your website and will help you define your identity on the Web.