Aug 03 2013

Reviews of Cathal Grant

Published by

  • Patients Speak Out Against Cathal Grant MD of Bedford, Texas

  • Cathal Grant is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not

  • In our experience the facts below prove Cathal Grant is doing what he paid for by the drug companies
     A Glance: this Prescriber Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, in 2010
    2,092 Medicare Part D Prescriptions Filled $280K Total Retail Price $135 Average Prescription Price 204 Medicare Part D Patients Receiving at Least One Drug

    Source: Pro Publica

  • Click here to see the payments made to Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas by the Drug companies

Psychiatry’s Prescription for Violence

Source: CCHR

IMPORTANT FACTS

1. Studies in numerous countries reveal that between 10% and 25% of psychiatrists and psychologists admit to sexually abusing their patients.

2. Germany reported that 50% of registered psychologists and psychotherapists are unacceptable as practitioners because they have more problems than their patients.

3. The so-called ethics system used by psychiatrists has been universally attacked as soft and inadequate.

4. A 1997 Canadian study of psychiatrists revealed that 10% admitted to sexually abusing theirs patients; 80% of those are repeat offenders.

My opinion has gathered comments of patients of Cathal Grant from across the web and we are putting them here so the general public can be well informed about Cathal Grant as we feel it is it in our opinion to do for the general good and public safety. As the first patient says “You don’t have to be a good doctor in order to be a successful doctor. Cathal is proof of that. ” enough said:

 

  • Here are the patient speaking out against the practices of Cathal Grant Bedford, Texas:

 

  • 1. Poor treatment, poor doctor
    “Cathal came over from the UK and established a thriving business. One problem w/ Cathal is most people only see him once. Then they get shuffled off to someone else to sling the drugs. Another problem, they very seldom are on time. This is because he has a tremendous amount of patients, but he doesn’t increase his staff. Problem 3: Whenever (and I mean whenever) you call his office, you’ll be put on hold. Number 4: Lack of organizational skills. They can’t remember what prescriptions they wrote for whom or when they wrote them. Finally let me mention insurance. Unbeknownst to me (Or Cathal for that matter), my copay increased by five dollars in 2009. I should have known but I admit I don’t stay on top of these things like I should. Approximately two months later I get a seething letter that I have 30 days to fess up the five bucks or it goes to the collection agency. I suspect all of these trouble spots may be because Cathal is thrifty, but I’m just guessing. Or maybe he just doesn’t know any better. You don’t have to be a good doctor in order to be a successful doctor. Cathal is proof of that. “

 

  • 2. The Invisible Psychiatrist
    I am a patient in Dr. Grant’s practice. I have been for four years now. I have never met him. From the beginning I have been seen by a family nurse Practitioner who I like. I have gotten better under her care, but she and her associates are simply there to monitor medications and write prescriptions. They are consistently late in seeing me, normally at least 30 minutes. I have on, on three occasions, had to leave after 45 minutes without being seen. Patient visits are intended to take fifteen minutes or less; how do you feel, does this combination of medication seem to be working for you, do you need any prescriptions for refills. Any time you need over what was allotted is allowed without question, but even one minute makes the nurse Practioner run late. As the day progresses, it get progressively worse. I try to schedule the first appointment after lunch. But, on the other hand, if I am a no show, they never charge contrary to the many signs in the waiting room. Considering the volume of patients I did not understand the logic when the practice began closing on Fridays. Packing a full 5 days’ worth of patients into four days makes the wait longer and appears greedy somehow. Cathal wants to eat his cake and have it too. But, at the expense of his patients. My provider is excellent about returning messages. But, if you miss the call, there is no way to call back. And, they do not call again. You have to wait until the next business day and leave another message, then sit by the phone from about 05:15 PM- 06:15 PM. If you call on Thursday and miss the call back, you are out of luck until Monday. They have established a hot line for refills which is ineffective. I was about to run out of one of my meds, so I called the number and specifically stated I needed a one week supply because my refill was delayed from the mail in pharmacy. The message was sent to the office which faxed an Rx not to my local druggist, but to the mail in pharmacy. Anything out of the ordinary is baffling to the Practitioner. For example, Family Medical Leave Act paperwork. I presented the documents and was asked if she could just write a note instead! I work for a huge company, she know it, but had to tell her I was not 8 and in elementary school. The paperwork was submitted twice and rejected twice simply because of missing information and because Dr. Grant did not sign the papers himself, a requirement! I like the care I receive. Drugs have been extremely effective over the years, so I just want my drugs and to be on my way. I am allowed to say exactly how I feel and participate in deciding about changes in my regime. I have no problem with the idea that I will be on some kind of medication for the rest of my life. There are patients and providers who feel obligated to wean off some drugs, like Xanax fearing addiction. I do not share in those concerns and do not care if I am addicted or not. How would I know? I always take my medications as prescribed. That is sort of how it is all supposed to work And, I feel good. What more is there to it? It could be better, yes. My overall rating is more like a 2 3/4 stars than 2. How this FMLA certification scenario plays out will make a huge difference. I’ll be back.
  • I have reported them to the State of Texas for their “cattle call” ways and negligence. BEWARE

My son and I saw this doctor and his nurse practitioners for over 2 years. His office was the rudest office I have ever seen in my entire life. In over 30 days they never returned a call to my pharmacist or insurance company, nor did they return my calls. I have reported them to the State of Texas for their “cattle call” ways and negligence. BEWARE.

  • 3. CATHAL WHO??

Never met the man (may be a woman) only met his PAs. Weight 30 min. to set with PA just long enough for them to push some pills – write the scripts and out the door… They process people like Tyson processes chicken.

  • 4. Found out Most of Patients in Springwood hospital was Grant’s

Saw the nurse practitioner more than the doctor, I told the doctor on several occasions that Abilify was making me depressed and feeling worse, they continued my dosage and increased it even. At my lowest doctor referred me to Springwood hospital, while my stay there, I realized that half the patients that were there were patients of Dr. Grant’s. I changed doctors, and recommend the same.”

He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs.

We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now.

  • 5. Broke up happy marriage of 25 years without any reason, told wife to leave husband without reason.

“In my opinion when a drug like Cymbalta is left in the hands of a doctor like Cathal P. Grant, patients could be endangered. It is my experience, and therefore my opinion that Dr. Grant ignores reported side affects’ symptoms such as the drastically unusual and even violent behavior in a patient on this drug towards their spouse of 25 years. Does Dr. Grant investigate the side effects of Cymbalta and prescribe something else? In my experience and opinion the answer is No, instead, Dr. Grant advises the patient to divorce their supportive, loving husband. It is my opinion that this is not responsible medicine, this is total disregard for a patient’s welfare and his medical practice license should be revoked for the safety of the public. In my recent compliant action to the Texas Medical Board. Dr. Grant claimed he met standards of care and treatment and obtained informed consent for medication prescribed with the indication of possible side effects, he additionally claimed reasonable care and claimed was attentive to any reported side effects. In my opinion there is one opinion to Dr. Grant’s claims you must be in the room to get and to give informed consent for medication. It is my experience that Dr. Grant never explained any medication, and by no means went through any side effect with me or my wife; in fact there was absolutely no side effects discussion in any way shape or form. It is my experience he refused listening to the side effects of the drug Cymbalta on my wife. If I said one word about her both Grant and his nurse Sharon Walters started yelling HIPPA and flat refused to listen to anything I had to say. In my opinion this is totally contrary to the statement he gave the Texas Medical Board. In my experience this was contrary to Elli Lilly’s instructions on the drug on Cymbalta too, when the side effects I was trying to tell both Grant and Walters about, my wife was to be removed from the Cymbalta, according to the companies literature. It is my opinion that Grant purposely ignored or had no knowledge of the drug manufacture€™s recommendation of the drug he was prescribing, resulting in an attack on my person of my wife of 25 years, and a resulting injury which I do not know I will ever get over.”

  • 6. Cattle Call Medical Practice

You are run through like cattle and very very quickly. you almost feel like you are just getting a quick stock answer in order to move you on. No one really takes any time with you or really seems concerned about your condition.”

  • 7. He (Grant) acts like I am trying to get some fix or buzz.

When I first went to see Dr. Grant three years ago he was helpful and I certainly liked him. BUT now I “Feel I am not able to give him feedback when I feel a dosage is possibly too low because he seems as though when I do he acts like I am trying to get some fix or buzz. When you are unable to openly communicate with the person who is deciding what psychotropic drugs you should take, it creates a very large obstacle in finding a solution to your mental problem . “

  • 8. This doctor (Grant) does not listen to what you say

This doctor does not listen to what you say. We were there to get help for my ADHD son. Told him we like the meds currently using just needed help on how to manage the disorder and school. All he wanted to talk about was changing meds. Office very busy and he ran 45 min behind but we were in his office less than 10 min. I asked the staff about wait time, they acted like this was the norm

  • 9. In our opinion this statement shows all Cathal Grant is nothing but a legal dope pusher.

“he was easy. my psych gives me as much Adderall as I want as well. She works for Cathal grant in Bedford, TX. her name is merry lynn hake. you should try her out (right now I’m on 80mgs a day). Yeah I use both of them for it but sometimes you need to do what you think is right!”

  • 10. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs.

We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now.

  • 11. In our opinion this statement shows all Cathal Grant is nothing but a legal dope pusher.

“he was easy. My psych gives me as much Adderall as I want as well. She works for Cathal grant in Bedford, TX. Her name is merry Lynn hake. You should try her out (right now I’m on 80mgs a day). yeah i use both of them for it but sometimes you need to do what you think is right!”

  • 12. Do not seem to care about their patient’s

“That office and the doctor’s in it (Dr. Grant FOR SURE) do not seem to care about their patient’s as much as their EXTREMELY RUDE STAFF, the only,REPEAT, the ONLY saving grace they have is SOME of their Nurse Practitioner’s. Very sad that it has come to this level of medical attention. They don’t care anymore, they just wanna throw the med’s THEY think work. I had to fight with one of the nurses about stopping a med. that was causing SEVERE. effect’s, and she wouldnt hear it.SEEK CARE ELSEWHERE”

 

  • 13.  He no longer seem’s to care about the quality of care

“Dr.Grant as has been put here before has lost his personality, he no longer seem’s to care about the quality of care as much as ‘trying to see that his office goes smoothly’. IT DOES NOT!!! I stood in a line 5 people, 4 out of those 5 patient’s had some form of complaint (they mess up appointment’s, lose track of if you owe them money which is all they seem to care about). I have been seeing Dr. Grant for over 10 year’s and was verb abused today”

“Dr. Grant has lost his heart with regard to humanity and truly helping people. His office is extremely rude and border on abusive. Over 30 days went by and his office did not return the pharmacists phone calls or the insurance company nor mine. I finally made an appointment and was told by the NP everything was taken care of. NOT!! I terminated my relationship with his office as it was grueling.”

“I have seen Dr. Grant a grand total of twice. Anytime I try to get into to see him, I am pawned off on one of the Nurse Practioners. The two times I did see him, he pushed drugs on me after speaking to me for only a few minutes.”

  • 14. An NP almost killed me trying to wear me down to take anti depressants.

Am still at the stage of deciding to do a Medical Board Complaint, lawsuit, or my own website showing graphic pictures of my bodies reaction to their “treatment’ program or lack thereof.

Note: No one gets to visit the psychiatrist Dr. Grant for more than 5 minutes. He lets his NP’s make medical decisions that only a qualified Dr. can make. These NPs are under his license.”

  • 15. Not Worth Your Time

Owing to a sudden relationship breakup, I had some issues with depression that had never before been evident. On my first visit, the staff were very supportive and attentive, but this vanished rather quickly afterward. I have had issues with my insurance covering the medications prescribed to me, and got minimal assistance from this office addressing them. In the end, after $300 in visits and not a single prescription being filled, I reached out to my primary care physician, who prescribed something to me. I know that there is a school of thought that believes it is better to see a licensed psychiatrist for issues like this, but in all honesty, I felt as if the same amount of attentiveness was given at my primary care physician’s office than at this one, and this office’s actions only compounded my problems and added additional frustration that I did not need. In my opinion, this practice is average, at best. I am certain there are better resources out there.

 

  • 16. Not helping people in my opinion…..next doctor please!

 

I was unable to refill my script for alprazolam after the first script ran out because i canceled a doctors apt. it’s important to note several facts around this. One, I went through the first script in about 2 months (twice as long as the meds should have lasted, indicating no abuse of this drug). 2, I am a site mgr. and had trouble getting off for the first 2 apts (both within the last 6 weeks) and they have switched me to 2 different antidepressants, both have failed to work. Why am unable to get my meds???? They are in the business of making money….not helping people in my opinion…..next doctor please!

I was prescribed alprazolam (generic xanax) which i took previously back home in Florida under the care of another doc….got the same script from Dr. Grant, (a 30 day supply), and after a month and a half called to get it refilled and was told I’d have to set another apt. to discuss this…..(I have already been twice in 6 weeks as they have implemented and switched both Zoloft and Lexapro to with this medication)…..neither SSRi worked…..or at least I didn’t give them more than 6 weeks as I had entire body sweats at night. Point is, i stopped taking SSRIs and I KNOW that alprazolam works….and they won’t prescribe it…even though I’m unable to take off work……seems like they are interested in making money and not interested in helping me…their patient! Former patient…..next Doc please! This one was a bomb!

  • 17. Two Minute Session

 

I saw Dr. Grant once for like 2 minutes. Seriously, how can you make an informed decision on someone’s care in 2 minutes time? Then the next time I went back I saw an NP for about 2 more minutes! Got billed though as if I was seeing a doctor. I felt like I was being prodded by a cattle prod. I will make an appointment to see another doctor who will spend some time with me to find out what is going on vs. throwing different scripts at me. Try this come back, try this come back. Urrrr

 

  • 18. Find Someone Else!

This was a horrible experience for me! I saw Dr. Grant only one time and saw one of the nurses, Peggy, every time. Huuuuge waste of time!! Every time I had an appointment it would take at least 45min to an hour before I actually got to see her. And my appointments never lasted more than five minutes. So what in the world was she doing while I was waiting an hour!! She just asks a few basic questions, checks a few boxes, and keeps writing prescriptions. So if you just want pills easily, but not to really be cared for or helped this is the place for you. Every time I tried to fill my prescription it was ridiculous. They have horrible communication, plus they don’t care about their patients and their hours are unbelievable. They rarely work so good luck with that. I’m sure that’s why the office stays so booked because there is a small window of time to actually have an appt. The final straw for me was I ran out of meds and no one would help me or give me samples until my next appt. They booked my next appt. a month out! I had serious withdrawals from my meds. You would think that would be malpractice to withhold medication that radically affects your body, which I have been on for two years. I finally called the emergency # for Dr. Grant because nothing else worked. The receptionists and nurses are no help. I got samples for now and will go see a GOOD DR!

 

  • 19. NOT GOOD!!

I was prescribed alprazolam (generic xanax) which i took previously back home in Florida under the care of another doc….got the same script from Dr Grant, (a 30 day supply), and after a month and a half called to get it refilled and was told Id have to set another apt. to discuss this…..(I have already been twice in 6 weeks as they have implemented and switched both zoloft and lexapro to with this medication)…..neither SSRi worked…..or at least I didn’t give them more than 6 weeks as I had entire body sweats at night. Point is, i stopped taking SSRIs and I KNOW that alprazolam works….and they wont prescribe it…even though im unable to take off work……seems like they are interested in making money and not interested in helping me…their patient! Former patient…..next Doc please!,….this one was a bomb!

  • 20. Rude Doctor

 

THIS DOCTOR IS VERY RUDE WILL NOT LET YOU SPEAK AND DOES NOT ASK ENOUGH QUESTIONS OR ADDRESS YOUR CONCERNS HE IS VERY SHORT AND GIVES MEDS W/O REGUARD TO PEOPLE HAT HAVE BAD SIDE EFFECTS AND THEN ACCUSES YOU OF MISUSE i WOULD NOT RECOMEND SEEING THIS DOCTOR HE SPENDS ABOUT 10 MIN WITH YOU AND YOU GET NOTHING OUT OF THE SESSION. ALSO HAS A DIFFICULT ACCENT TO UNDERSTAND, NOT ONCE HAS HE EVER ASKED HOW ARE YOU DOING TODAY OR HOW DO YOU FEEL YOU MIGHT BE BETTER OFF WITH 99 OTHER DR.S OUT OF 100

 

  • 21. From Bad to Worse

Provided by YP.com Posted by andrewartha1 on 03/01/2011

In my experience, this WAS a decent medical practice once. Originally when the practice was not just limited to Dr. Grant the office was fairly decent. Now that Dr. Grant is on his own, I wouldn’t recommend him to anyone. Dr. Grant is basically callous and not willing to consider treatment options outside the scope of his cookie-cutter molded “cure-all” solutions. Dr. Grant is a particularly bad choice of doctor if you take any controlled prescriptions. In my experience, it only takes 1 innocent slip on the dates between filling your CII Rx for his staff to label you as a potential junkie. On a side note, he recently changed policies about filling CII’s; for the most profitable. Dr. Grant now requires you to have an appointment EVERY time to get your controlled Rx refill, they won’t do it any other way now. Aside from that, his nurse practitioners are equally callous, they really only care about keeping you supplied with refills and are rather unconcerned about actually improving your results from medication. His nurses (and himself) think all medication issues can be fixed either by upping or lowering the dose of what you currently take, never trying something new. To summarize, avoid this doctor and his practice like the plague!

  • 22. My husband may go to prison

I thought Dr. Grant would help my husband’s anger issues, he only made them worse. He has been diagnosed as bi-polar by another dr., however Dr. Grant’s Nurse doesn’t think so, so she keeps pushing the wrong meds.

He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs.

  • 23. Paid to speak for almost every drug company out there

We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now.

 

  • 24. ONE OF THE CATTLE

I waited six weeks for this appointment, because he is the only doctor I could find taking my current insurance. I specifically told the receptionist that I needed to spend time with the doctor and she said he always spends 45 minutes to one hour with his new patients. Great. When I get there, after the paperwork, I am shuffled into a licensed social workers office. She is the person asking all the questions. Since she asks all the questions, I am telling her my problems. She then shuffles me into Dr. Grant’s office. He asks me one question. Then prescribed a medication. I asked; Will this help with anxiety? “No”, Will this help with sleeplessness? “No”. These were two of the problems I had. And then I was out! You will see the PA down the hall the next time. Well the drugs are not working and I have put in a call. We will see how that goes. The staff including the social worker were great. I really couldn’t give you an opinion of Dr Grant as I only saw him for five minutes.

  • 25. Cause Husband to Harm Himself

My husband was going to this clinic for about 4 years, and he was constantly seeing different people. After several years of going here, the nurse practitioners would call and leave voice mails calling him by his last name. Every time you visit they will have you with a different therapist, and they don’t keep notes as serious as a recent death in your family, or that you’ve had a severe reaction to a drug (they re-prescribed him a medication that caused aggression just a few months after I had to call them to tell him how he was reacting). The sad truth is that this clinic is very very poorly run (typical wait time is 1 hour PAST your appointment time before you even get to see anyone), they only want your money and don’t seem to care at all about getting the patient better. As a result of the years of neglect in treating the problems I tried many times to tell them about, my husband seriously hurt himself and we now have several thousand dollars in hospital bills because of it. Had he been on more than an … 4 years, and he was constantly seeing different people. After several years of going here, the nurse practitioners would call and leave voice mails calling him by his last name. Every time you visit they will have you with a different therapist, and they don’t keep notes as serious as a recent death in your family, or that you’ve had a severe reaction to a drug (they re-prescribed him a medication that caused aggression just a few months after I had to call them to tell him how he was reacting). The sad truth is that this clinic is very very poorly run (typical wait time is 1 hour PAST your appointment time before you even get to see anyone), they only want your money and don’t seem to care at all about getting the patient better. As a result of the years of neglect in treating the problems I tried many times to tell them about, my husband seriously hurt himself and we now have several thousand dollars in hospital bills because of it. Had he been on more than an anti-depressant this probably would never have happened. Don’t expect them to listen to you when you tell them things you’re seeing in a person, they apparently think they know a patient better than someone that lives with them (and they typically spend 10 mins a visit with the patient). HORRIBLE ethics.

  • 26. Cathal Grant (In our opinion he should be called DR. Divorce) breaks up another marriage

I’ve read bad reviews on Dr. Grant who seems to prescribe medication freely without spending the time to talk/listen to understand the roots of an issue. My ex-husband wanted medication for sleep, but got medication for depression/anxiety on top of that. The office has a policy of, ask and they will prescribe, which is irresponsible. More than anything he needed someone to talk to, work out his issues, help him gain perspective, and a doctor that encouraged him to reduce stress/increase endorphins in natural ways by exercising. Even if it costs more in the beginning, it’s worth it in the long wrong to get a good mental health professional. I would say that Dr. Grant’s indifferent policy helped lead to the demise of our marriage b/c despite taking medication, nothing really changed and he had so much pent up anger/frustration.

  • 27. Son was suicidal but did not care

My son was a patient of Dr. Grant. He was two weeks away from an appointment, and was taken to the hospital and kept on suicide watch. I called Dr. Grant to get him in, but was told they had no openings. I was to call to see if they had a cancellation. I tried several times, but was only able to get him in when his appointment came around. Then they only saw him for 5 minutes. So in two weeks, they couldn’t get a suicidal patient in for 5 minutes? And I have had nothing but problems with prescriptions written. Every one requires prior authorization, so my son runs out of medication before the doctor and the insurance get it straightened out. Why doesn’t the doctor approve it when he decides to write the prescription? I do not recommend Dr. Grant or his office to anyone for any reason.

  • 28. Another Dr. Would Have Been Better

Both of my now grown children saw Dr. Grant for intensive therapy. The treatments were not effective for them. This mind you, was in the early 1990’s. The medications were not effective and made them sick most of the time. Issues did not improve and as time went by, I could see Dr. Grant simply was not equipped to help my children. Perhaps a referral from Dr. Grant to a Dr. that worked exclusively with children would have been a better thing, but that did not happen. I finally had to just stop all meds and remove them from seeing Dr. Grant. They tell you to get your children help when they are young if they need it and it will help them to learn coping skills. Well, what it did is make the children angrier. One is now a felon and the other a very angry man. They were very young when treatment began and they are now 30 and 31 years of age. They cannot bear to hear Dr. Grant’s name. Too little, too late. I would not ever recommend Dr. Grant to anyone. Please, take your children elsewhere.

  • 29. I find dr grant to be rude uncaring and unwilling to spend more that 1 minute on patients.I feel he treats us like cattle. I am a former patient.

 

  • 30. Run don t walk.

After being treated years by another doctor I moved to the Bedford location and tried going to Dr. Grant. He immedatly changed my medications upon my first visit. I didn’t think very much of this at first however i was afraid of adverse reactions because I had experienced that in the past. However When the new year rolled around and I found that my new perscription was in the neighborhood of $400.00 per month I had an issue that I reported to the office. They truely were not understanding. I just wanted my old prescription and that was unacceptable to them. I kept getting the run around i was goingto have to make an appointment and such. Finally they did change my perscription only the dose was changed and it was still for the incorrect medication. I gave up. There is just no dealing with this group believe me I tried for weeks.

  • 31. DR GRANT HAS INTEGRITY AND TRUST ISSUES WITH HIS PATIENTS

I’m not someone who comments/or participates in writing about my person experiences with physicians and/or any industry. However, my recent experience with Dr Grant,and his staff (nurse practitioners, assistants, & social workers) put me at high risk for having a medical emergency. I located Dr Grant’s office on-line a couple months ago and decided to use his service, because he was close to my home and all I needed was a psychiatrist to monitor my current medications and renew prescriptions.My first visit went well and I was expected to return in 3 months for a check-up. When I was in his office we went over my medications and he told me to call if I needed a renewal. I was starting to get low on one of my high power psychiatric medications and called his office for a renewal. After, numerous calls and being passed on to other managers and nurses I was helpless with getting a renewal for my medication that I have been taking for 8 years. This particular medication builds up in your system and has to be tappered off vs abruptly stopping the medication. Yes, I was nervous and scared and begged the nurses to ask doctor to call my medication in. Soon I was out of the medication and experiencing uncomfortable withdrawals. I finally got in to see Dr Grant a week later. I was experiencing medical withdrawals (anxiety, heart palpitations, nausea, dizziness, chest pain, high blood pressure, increased pulse)andI could hardly talk from uncontrollable shaking. Dr Grant was more concerned with making a point and justifying his refusal to renew my medications and failed to see me as a patient and remember his oath to take care of his patients with the highest standard of integrity and trust.Finally, I believe looking at the big picture, that Dr Grant jeopardized my health to be paid for a office visit.Thank goodness I’m ok and didn’t have a stroke are seizure, because of the abrupt stop in my medication.I hope this help’s you in making the right decision on who to take care of your needs…..eif you follow the money all my questions are answered.

  • 32. Horrible experience with Dr. Grant

I had a horrible experience with Dr. Grant. Actually, I only saw him once. It was the rest of his staff that was exceptionally terrible. I was seeing him for Attention Deficit Disorder medicines, which are a controlled substance. It was very difficult to see someone in his office every three months, and I often ran out of medicines. I am currently not taking the medicine, but would rather suffer with my mental illness than spend any more money at this office. Awful. Just awful.

  • 33. Depersonalized Practice

The only way Grant could depersonalize his practice more than it is already, is to post a two minute video on the Internet telling you about how qualified he is and then emailing a prescription for Cymbalta. As an ex-patient of Grant’s, I saw him for 4 – 5 minutes while he glance at notes his staff had taken of my medical history, and then prescribed Cymbalta. This drug is notorious for its brutal side effects, including suicide. Thank you, Dr. Grant!

  • 34. Grant is a legal drug pusher

DO NOT go to Grant. He is a legal drug pusher who prescribes drugs notorious for their toxic side effects, including SUICIDE. If you were desperate when you went to Grant, you may be DEAD afterwards

  • 35. Only in it for the Money

ONLY IN IT FOR THE MONEY! RUN AWAY! They avoid proper diagnosis so they can keep you coming back and put you on the wrong meds for your actual condition, even sometimes prescribing meds that make you worse. This guy is a MILLIONAIRE. Wonder why?

  • 36. They barely gave me any information at all

They barely gave me any information at all. I’m going to have to do my own research to get my questions answered. Their staff was not friendly at all, I didn’t feel welcome there. I feel like my appointment was pointless. None of my questions were answered, nothing was accomplished, and I felt worse when I left. Run don t walk. After being treated years by another doctor I moved to the Bedford location and tried going to Dr. Grant. He immediately changed my medications upon my first visit. I didn’t think very much of this at first however i was afraid of adverse reactions because I had experienced that in the past. However When the new year rolled around and I found that my new prescription was in the neighborhood of $<url removed> per month I had an issue that I reported to the office. They truly were not understanding. I just wanted my old prescription and that was unacceptable to them. I kept getting the run around i was goingto have to make an appointment and such. Finally they did change my prescription only the dose was changed and it was still for the incorrect medication. I gave up. There is just no dealing with this group believe me I tried for weeks.

  • 37. This was a horrible experience for me!

This was a horrible experience for me! I saw Dr. Grant only one time and saw one of the nurses,Peggy, every time. Huuuuge waste of time!! Every Time I had an appointment it would take at least 45min to an hour before I actually got to see her. And my appointments never lasted more than five minues. So what in the world was she doing while I was waiting an hour!! She just asks a few basic questions, checks a few boxes, and keeps writing prescriptions. So if you just want pills easily, but not to really be cared for or helped this is the place for you. Every Time I tried to fill my prescription it was ridiculous. They have horrible communication, plus they don’t care about their patients and their hours are unbelievable. They rarely work, so good luck with that. I’m sure that’s why the office stays so booked because there is a small window of time to actually have an appt. The final straw for me was I ran out of meds and no one would help me or give me samples until my next appt. They booked my next appt a month out! I had serious withdrawals from my meds. You would think that would be malpractice to withhold medication that radically effects your body, which I have been on for two years. I finally called the emergency # for Dr. Grant because nothing else worked. The receptionists and nurses are no help. I got samples for now and will go see a GOOD DR!

  • 38. DO NOT go to Grant

I recommend that Grant publish an article about processing a packed waiting room into a financial portfolio that would make Madoff blush. He processed me through his throne room/office in less than five minutes, glimpsed at some medical notes his staff had written about my medical history, and then prescribed Cymbalta, a toxic drug known for its brutal side effects and dangerous withdrawal. There is Cymbalta office paraphernalia all over his office…think there may be a connection?

  • 39 Dr grant? WHAT A JOKE!

Dr grant? WHAT A JOKE! I went to see him for the fits time today and not even within 5 minutes this doctor wanted me to go next door to Springwood. Do these doctors get some credit or any kind for sending patients to the hospital right next door? ODD. Do NOT use dr grant at all.

 

  • 40 ONLY IN IT FOR THE MONEY! RUN AWAY!

ONLY IN IT FOR THE MONEY! RUN AWAY! They avoid proper diagnosis so they can keep you coming back and put you on the wrong meds for your actual condition, even sometimes prescribing meds that make you worse. This guy is a MILLIONAIRE. Wonder why?

  • 41 Why would he (Cathal Grant) take away hope from a young patient

I tried so hard to believe that this was going to be a different experience, that time would be spent gaining the proper diagnosis and genuine concern would be given. Instead, Dr. Grant said something today to the effect that maybe no medications would help (yet we be only been a patient for 4 1/2 months). He didn’t t seem to believe the side-effects experienced (although verified by two other doctors who seemed to believe the psychiatric drug was the cause), wouldn’t  talk about other classes of drugs, and gave no hope whatsoever for further treatment.  Oh, did I mention it might possibly be because they are no longer taking our insurance soon and he knew we wouldn’t t be a patient in less than a month?  Not only did we leave the office discouraged, feeling as if time was wasted, but he also caused a patient who already has depression and anxiety to feel horrible about them self and then experience overwhelming anxiety afterwards due to the distressing comments made. Why would he take away hope from a young patient seeking rescue/hope for the future/willingness for treatment? Why wouldn’t t he offer suggestions and recommendations for the next line of treatment to bring up with a new doctor?

  • 42. Long story short find another Doctor

I have been using Dr. Cathel Grant for several years. I should say I have been using a nurse practitioner that is employed by Dr Cathel Grant for several years. Run away from this Doctor. I feel like I am in a worse place now than I was before I started to see the nurse practitioner. I have tried to talk with but they refuse to listen. Long story short find another Doctor.

In a recent article Dr. Mercola noted Federal Institute for Mental Health Abandons Psychiatric ‘Bible’ the DSM, the same ‘Bible” Cathal Grant uses to diagnose his patients, under the brain chemical imbalance theory, which has been discarded by medical science:

Source: Dr. Mercola 

Federal Institute for Mental Health Abandons Psychiatric ‘Bible’

There may be a glimmer of hope on the horizon however, in terms of psychiatric diagnosis and ultimate treatment. The misuse of psychiatric drugs is in part due to the reliance on the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)—the “bible” of psychiatry, containing all the diagnostic codes for virtually every conceivable mental health problem and personality quirk known to man at this point. There are many problems with this reference book. As stated by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH):6

“While DSM has been described as a ‘bible’ for the field, it is, at best, a dictionary, creating a set of labels and defining each. The strength of each of the editions of DSM has been “reliability” – each edition has ensured that clinicians use the same terms in the same ways. The weakness is its lack of validity.

Unlike our definitions of ischemic heart disease, lymphoma, or AIDS, the DSM diagnoses are based on a consensus about clusters of clinical symptoms, not any objective laboratory measure. In the rest of medicine, this would be equivalent to creating diagnostic systems based on the nature of chest pain or the quality of fever.

Indeed, symptom-based diagnosis, once common in other areas of medicine, has been largely replaced in the past half century as we have understood that symptoms alone rarely indicate the best choice of treatment. Patients with mental disorders deserve better.” [Emphasis mine]

At the end of April, the NIMH (which is responsible for overseeing mental health research in the US, and funds more research in this field than any other agency in the world) announced it will no longer look to the DSM as the “gold standard” for categorizing mental health problems.7 In an effort to improve and transform psychiatric diagnosis and treatment, the Institute has launched the Research Domain Criteria (RDoC) project, which will incorporate genetics, imaging, cognitive science, and other information in order “to lay the foundation for a new classification system.”

Will Psychiatric Transformation Miss the Mark Yet Again?

While this is a step in the right direction, I hope they make the effort to go far enough… The NIMH admits that their approach began with certain assumptions, some of which, I think, may or may not be completely accurate in all cases. And if so, then the most effective treatments may still be completely overlooked. For example, one of the assumptions is that:

Mental disorders are biological disorders involving brain circuits that implicate specific domains of cognition, emotion, or behavior.”

The assumption that all mental health problems are due to biological dysfunction is to take too narrow a view, in my opinion, because there’s also a spiritual and a bioenergetic component—both of which few psychiatrists bother to address. Also, by limiting it to “biological disorders involving brain circuits” they may completely miss the boat in terms of how nutrition affects your mental health. Mounting research shows that your gut health has a truly profound impact on your mental and emotional states, so to say that the cause of mental disorders is rooted in faulty brain circuits alone still seems rather dogmatic and archaic.

We may in fact be complicating matters when we really should be simplifying. There’s no doubt in my mind that proper nutrition, optimal gut health and vitamin D levels, along with regular exercise and an overall reduction in toxic exposures can go an enormously long way toward curbing the trend of rising mental health problems.

Sources and References:

2  PsychCentral May 4, 2013

6  Institute for Mental Health April 29, 2013

Dr. Mark Hyman on Antidepressants:

Dr. Mark Hyman on ADD and  ADHD:

Peter R. Breggin, MD – Antidepressants & Suicide – Congressional Testimony

Diagnostic & Statistical Manual

In our experience the following video is an example of how  Cathal Grant MD, Bedford, Texas treats and controls his patients to keep them on the Psychotropic drugs to make his patients prescription drug addicts, all for his greed of wealth, and the credits he get with the drug companies for prescribing their drugs, which he is paid by them to push.

This video proves what we are saying in our opinion about Cathal Grant’s medical practice, it also shows how Cathal Grant does not want you to have informed consent in your visit with him , he dose not tell you the truth, as the video below shows:

“We found out that he gets paid to speak for almost every drug company out there, even if the drugs are competitors. He is out to make the money and it is apparent the way patients are herded through the practice with no regard for the patient’s needs. Beware if he tries to prescribe you a “new” drug on the market, it probably means they are paying him now. “

 

Doctors Paid Big By Drug Companies?

 

 

Becky Oliver of Fox Four News Dallas Reports on the Texas Medical Board:

Top secret meetings, back-door deals and confidential complaints are all a part of the Texas Board of Medical Examiners. The state board is supposed to be policing doctors and protecting the public but some patients complain the system is a prescription for failure.

Dallas News | myFOXdfw.com

  • Click the links below to see why nothing is done about a Doctor like Cathal Grant

Texas Report

MEDICAL BOARDS’ SERIOUS DISCIPLINARY 2008-2010

Comments Off on Reviews of Cathal Grant

Comments are closed at this time.

  • Archives Calendar

    May 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Sep    
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

  • RSS In my Opinon Free Speech

    • In My Opinion Free Speech site was attacked I guess they do not like the truth to be told
      It seems like that when you supply the truth as  In my opinion free speech does, and you start exposing the drugs, drug companies, and the people responsible for hurting so many innocent people who among many actions, break up marriages and basically ruinin people’s lives and careers by their actions and drugs they use wrongly, and abusively, that when Related posts: In my opinion the drug Cathal Grant is paid by Eli Lilly to push on you if you need it or not, has major issues as told in the article “Suicide and Cymbalta” In my opinion: What’s really behind the school shootings. In tha case of Cathal Grant his patient have attacked members of thier won family, even though the famly members warned his what what going on, all Cathal Grant wants to do is keep people hooked on the drug hie is supplying if they need the drigs or not. In my opinion the truth about the drugs Cathal Grant Prescribes and the facts he does not want you to know: Mental Health Watchdog Launches Psychiatric Drug Side Effects Database—Search All Drug Regulatory Agency Warnings, Studies & Adverse Reactions Reports
    • In my Opinion the payment still being made to Cathal Grant to give you medication you may not need
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies , our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not. Payments: At a Glance 566 payments $210,057 payment total Rank: 8 out of 1,268 doctors in this specialty and state Drugs & Devices Totals listed below account Related posts: In my opinion a release Eli Lilly: Lying is the Best Defense The drug company who pays Cathal Grant (Cathal Grant’s total payment $151,474.00 since 2010 by all drug companies) to give you medication you may not need In my opinion a report: Psychology Professor: Grief and anxiety are not mental illnesses; People need help & understanding not labels & medication, but Cathal Grant will label you and give you drugs if you need them or not, all he wants is the money for office visits, and credit with the drug companies for the drug he has perscribed and hooked you on they have paid him $151,474.00 since 2010. In my opinion asks the question: Why Must Everything Be a Medical Condition? ADHD prescriptions soar 50% in six years, In Cathal Grant’s case he getd patients hooked on these drugs for nothing more than he own personal gains and his payment by the drug companies to increse thier profits by prescribing these drug if you need them or not.
    • In my opinion Cathal Grant the doctor and drugs in Medicare Part D a real tale of over prescribing for money
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   Source: Pro Publica   Cathal Grant keeps in our opinion  increasing his wrongful prescribing of drug these patients do Related posts: In My Opinion SSRI Tragedy a Real Risk, and Cathal Grant does not care what the drugs he prescribes to you does, all he is interested in is the money he collects for the 2 to 5 minute office visits and what the drug companies pay him to push their drugs In my opinion News: Media Ignores Real Story in Conn School Shooting, and Cathal Grant keeps prescribing the same class of drug that has caused these incidents, caring for nothing but his office visit fees In my Opoinon Report on Cathal Grant Prescriber Checkup The Doctors and Drugs in Medicare Part D, the time Cathal Grant spends with his patient 2 to 5 minutes is not enough time to do a proper diganosis, just to push drugs on unsupecting Medicare and other patients, like the drug companies pay him to do if they need the drug or not in our experience Cathal Grant a true legal drug pusher
    • In my opinion: A Psychiatrist’s Perspective on Using Drugs . Cathal Grant does not practice like this he gets you hooked on these drug for his own profit and the proffit of the drug companies who pay him to hook you on their drugs
      Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is still accepting money from the drug companies which brings his total to $151,474.00 since 2010, our experience to push the drugs if you need them or not.   In our experience the facts below prove Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas, is doing what he paid Related posts: In my opinion: When it comes to Anti-depressants, it appears profit, not benefits, outweigh the risks and Dr. Cathal P Grant MD, Bedford, Texas practice is for nothing but profit his profit , he spends only 2 to 5 minutes with each patient so he can make the most profit by seeing the maxium number of patients each day and it is the patients who gets hooked on these drug in his practice when they do not need these drug at all. In my opinion a Documentary: The Drugging of Our Children, and Cathal Grant will drug you children, not because they need it only so he can get them hook on the drugs for more profit for him and the drug companies who pay him to push their drugs In my Opinion: Top psychiatrist: ‘We are turning childhood into a disease’ all for the prifit of Cathal Grand and the drug companies who pay him to get prople hooked on these drugs
    • In my Opinon: Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs, these are facts that Cathal Grant does not want you to read, he wants you not to know these facts so he can push drugs on you and get you hooked on them.
      Danish Doctor Offers Ten Myths About Psychotropic Drugs Design & Trend – January 23, 2014 By Pete Calautti Source: Design & Trend & CCHR Dr. Peter Gotzsche has created a controversy and sparked criticism over what he sees as a damaging over-prescription of drugs by psychiatrists. Gotzsche recently compiled a list of ten common myths held Related posts: In my Opinon Dr. Mercola Explains that Psychotropic Drug Use Associated with Increased Risk for Car Crashes, But Cathal Grant is a pro profit not for patient doctor who wants to get you hooked on these drugs reguardless of how you life is affected by these drugs In my opinion a Report: Mental Disorders: The Facts Behind the Marketing Campaign and Cathal Grant knows if you read this information you will come to the conclusion he is only in the business of pushing drugs you do not need using false diganostic methods and theories no longer accepted by the medical community. In my opinon the facts exposed: Psycho-Pharma Front Groups The Campaign to “Stop the Stigma” of “Mental Illness” was launched by…. the Pharmaceutical Industry, the same drug companies who pay Cathal Grant to get you hooked on their drugs of you need them or not.
LinkDock.com You found linkdock.com, so will your customers. It's a great label for your website and will help you define your identity on the Web.